Erik the Viking lover gets a few days in Gotland (the island full of Viking relics.)

IMG_4207This week has been quite the week and I have so little time to write about it! First things first, the people I work with, cause they matter most. Arman, this wonderful old man that looks like a Persian Albert Einstein, mustache and all, will be baptized in September! He brought two of his friends to church yesterday which was awesome. Why is it that those who are not even members do more missionary work than us members? We need to step it up. Dan and Majid are also progressing well to be baptized. Maryam is loving church, already is helping us teach lessons and is the essence of selfless service. I love her so much. She just makes me want to be a better human being.

The week of course was not all heel clicks and cotton candy. We had large spaces of no appointments (a lot of people are either on vacation for the last few weeks of summer or sick) so we contacted 258 people, with only a couple positive finds. It was a bit discouraging that even though we working hard we were finding very little success in contacting, but at the end of the week I do not regret not quitting when success was hard to find. Also this week John, a man we teach, wife died in child birth. This has been a very heavy burden on my heart throughout the week, a burden I cannot even imagine how heavy it would be for John. I know that after this life families could be together forever, that John can be reunited with his wife again and that through life, as he cares for his young children, both Heavenly Father, and his wife, will be there to give him strength.

IMG_4205This letter will have to be cut short, sorry, because I’m spending the next two days on the island Gotland, and have a lot of Viking ruins to see in one of the oldest preserved cities in Europe! But I love you all and wish you the best of weeks!

Äldste Erik Anderson Scott

Erik sent this to me (his Mom) and I thought I’d share it. Missionary work is all about loving and serving the people, not serving yourself to look more righteous. It makes me think of 1 Corinthians, chapter 13

1 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.

2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.

3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

4 Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,

5 Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;

6 Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;

7 Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.

8 Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.

9 For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.

10 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.

11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.

13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.

It is essential to remember as a missionary that just as Paul said, if we do all our missionary work labors all the day long, but do it out of some other reason than CHARITY it means nothing. It is like a tinkling cymbal. We cannot contact to get high numbers, we cannot teach to get high lessons, we cannot serve to get high baptism statistics. All of these things must be, and should only be, done out of Love and charity and no any other ulterior motive. Love of God and love of our fellow siblings is what makes our missionary labors of value. Otherwise, as Paul says “It profiteth me nothing.”

On the island of Gotland

Leave a Reply

