Ian’s last few weeks in Iowa City

Dear Mum,

I am a little bit over Iowa City, by now. Nearly six  months is a long time for me to be in an area. The ward has some helpful individuals and I have met some people that I really love, but most of them have moved out by now or are gone  ( Iowa City is a college town) for the holidays. I do love Miss Minny, who has a solid testimony. She just needs to quit those darned cigarettes! She left for Chicago for the holidays along with everyone else we have been teaching, so now there is no reason to be here anymore. Transfers are the 4th so I may be moving back to the real, rural, “pork for dinner every night” kind of Iowa that I love. So, since I am pretty sure I am getting the boot, I decided to go hard on the paint this week even though I have been sick in the stomach since Tuesday. I don’t know what it is, but I’m getting though it by drinking pepto bismol like a smoothie       ( it’s really good).

We have seen some miracles and taught more lessons this week then my entire mission, so that boosts morale! That’s about all I have to say about that. Read Jeremiah 20:99 , it says, “Then I said, I will not make mention of him, nor speak any more in his name. But his word was in mine heart as a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I was weary with forbearing, and I could not stay”. It sums up how I feel sometimes.. It can be so hard sometimes being a missionary  but this testimony keeps me going because I know it, and that’s my passion and I have to say I am so thankful for Jesus Christ and I don’t have to walk this life alone!

I really gained a testimony of this more after a die hard of another religion shoved his religion down our throats trying to get us to deny Jesus Christ as a the Son of God and our Savior for salvation. Without that fact, we are alone and there is no salvation and no point to anything, so that’s my thanksgiving “what I’m thankful as we go around the table statement”.  Have a happy Thanksgiving.

ianelanor
An older photo of Ian with his niece, Elanor about 8 months before leaving on his mission.

Love,                                                                                                                                                    Elder Scott

Leave a Reply

